Dating is great for your self-esteem…

Standard

Another Sunday and some more dating wisdom I have discovered on my dating journey. Since I a self proclaimed “professional” dater, I have decided that dating over the years has been terrific for my self-esteem. My wise running partner and sage (who at age 64 just completed her 44th marathon) loves to hear my dating stories and offer her words of wisdom. She once pointed out to me, upon my telling her a boy I attempted to date referred to me as “full of myself”, that she was very proud of me. According to her, a boy telling me I am “full of myself” means I have learned to love myself enough to assert my wants, my needs and my desires. She agreed with me that when my “man” arrives, he will be so pleased to meet a woman who is “full of herself” as this means I have improved my self-esteem to the level I’m ready to meet him. Here are some examples of how dating has helped me improve my self-esteem.

I insist to the boy/man before our first date the way I want it to go. I let him know I prefer an hour over coffee as this is a “no pressure” meet up. Very little money gets spent and it gives me and the boy/man I am on the date with a chance to decide if there is even going to be enough chemistry to go on a “full-blown date”. At times, I do stray from the “coffee meet up”, but only if I’d had a really horrible day and need that glass of wine to relax. After all, dating is all about my wants and needs in the now…

I get to talk about what has made me a better person over the years while on my dates. Boy, does this feel good for me. Not only am I letting the boy/man know that I am an evolved, powerful woman, but in hearing the words come out of my mouth, I am reminding myself. I have a great job, I earned a Master’s Degree, I have amazing family and friends, I travel to interesting places, I belong to a great church, I volunteer a lot to help others, I run marathons, I lost 60 pounds in a year, I write, blog, and tell great stories – WOW – in hearing all of this come out of my mouth I think to myself “darn, I am a catch”…

I practice my listening skills. This is hard for me, as I am a talker with a very quick thinking mind that usually is going much faster than what is going on around me. I have been accused of not being a good listener by several people and I am very aware that this is a skill I really need to sharpen in myself. So thank you boy/men. Listening to you tell me about your life is practice for me in “slowing down” and sharpening up the listening skills…

There are many other examples of why dating boy/men is great for my self-esteem. Learning to say “no” and to take care of myself. Learning to give “time, time” and reminding him that “all good things come to those who wait”. There is no reason to move quickly boy/men. As I know I am worth it…

Happy Sunday. Thanks as always for reading…

4 thoughts on “Dating is great for your self-esteem…

  1. Leslie, I enjoyed that blog and the message it represents. You know what you want and you established a safe way to meet up with first dates. Strong self-esteem is a foundation for a strong healthy life. You know your strengths and flaws and so the journey continues.

  2. Thoroughly enjoyed this. You got your self-esteem goin’ on! You have a way to meet up with first- time dates and keep it safe. And you even know your own flaws, which of course allows you to work on fixin’ them over time. It’s a great message.

Leave a Reply

