There is life beyond boys…

Standard

IMG_3610 

 Happy Sunday. Happy internet dating.  Since I have been blogging about internet dating and boy addiction recovery, I have realized there truly is life beyond boys.  This week, in a post on Facebook, I alluded to the fact that life for me is challenging at the moment and almost immediately someone responded that it must be about the “boys”.  Well, I’m happy to say IT WAS NOT!  My post was simply about my other life challenges.  The person who posted got me thinking that because I am a boy addict, it is quite a normal reaction for one of my readers to assume this.

I responded to her that this Sunday I would write about life beyond boys.  

Now that I consider myself attempting to recover from boy addiction, I have to constantly remind myself that I have an entire life separate from boys.  Boys and internet dating is quite simply one aspect of my world.  I work, I run, I write and I focus on my family and friends who are the world to me.  In fact, boys truly are less of a focus for me today.  WOW!  Did I really say that?

Those of you who have known me for a long time, know that as part of my boy addiction, when I have met a new boy I have immediately taken on his passions – my love of the Dave Matthews Band is because of a boy, my devastating relocation to Los Angeles California was because of a boy, my choice of my college was because of a boy!  CAN YOU IMAGINE?  Sorry Dad, I know I convinced you it was because of the profession I had chosen and I truly have no regrets – but YES it was because of the boy. 

I have said it many times, but I will say it again.  When I crossed the finish line of my very first marathon in NY City, I cried to myself almost immediately thinking that running is my passion and mine alone!  No boy got me into running.  In fact, I found running at the age of 12.  I joined my middle school track team and never looked back.

Don’t get me wrong.  Boys are still a part of my world.  I spend time with those who deserve my time.  

I actively internet date seeking my man (which truly I know God will provide me in his time), but my dating is only a part of my life.  I’m too busy with the activities that God has blessed me with that are truly MINE!

If I start losing myself and getting into my “unhealthy” weight gaining and depression “mode”, I most certainly am aware I might be too deep into my boy addiction.  

So for those of you who suspect you too may be opposite gender addicted, please reach deep into your soul AND FIND YOUR PASSION.  This is your God-given talent and the purpose that God wants you to pursue during your journey on this earth.

BELIEVE AND GO FOR IT!  Thank you for reading.

One thought on “There is life beyond boys…

Leave a Reply

