Is your price tag high?

Standard

Carolyn blog

Happy Sunday readers.  I want to begin by thanking my friend Carolyn who shared this writing with me yesterday when I was not certain what I was going to write about today.  I am so thankful for my friends who inspire me everyday to be the best person I can be.  Carolyn – congratulations on running your very first marathon today in Portland Oregon.  As always, hard work and dedication pays off and I know you will have an amazing run and finish!  So proud of you.

I read this writing Carolyn sent me over and over again because it truly affirms why I choose to be single.  I set my price tag high for myself and I’m holding to it.   Dating is fun and has enabled me to allow some very nice boys into my life who have taught me and continue to teach me valuable lessons about my self-worth.  Making a decision to be in a relationship with a boy is a risky venture and one I’m not willing to jump into and remain in for the long haul if I find that he is no longer valuing my worth.  As I always say to myself and to my readers, I’m waiting for my man.

There was a tragic story in my parents hometown this past week where a woman my Dad knew, worked with and was fond of was killed in a domestic violence situation that was very violent.  After 27 years of marriage and 4 children, I can only imagine what kind of living hell she was staying in because she thought she couldn’t get out.  I get it!  And I feel very blessed to have had the support and love of family and friends to always be able to extricate from boys who could potentially do me harm.  Too many women feel they have no choice but to stay in a situation that could eventually end their life.  I pray that I am never in that situation ever again in my life and I am thankful for the freedoms I have today  to “set my price tag high”.

God always sends us life lessons, some of which are very tough to understand.  I never thought after leaving an abusive marriage and surviving several major “boy heartbreaks” in my life that I would consider myself truly blessed as a single woman in my mid-forties with no children, but I do!  I just told my father how thankful I am that I am blessed and he agreed.

I could never do what I do without the love and support I receive.  I cannot say this enough.  Carolyn, it’s the folks like you who keep me running and writing and trying to keep myself “behind the glass” of a very high-end department store.  Only a real man – one who’s honest, sincere, giving, caring, responsible and loving and willing to treat me like the gold I am, will get to pick me out of the case.  Until then, I encourage you to evaluate your price tag and do your best to aim high!

Thank you for reading.

One thought on “Is your price tag high?

Leave a Reply

