Friend dates…

Standard

gigi and les hall house

Happy Sunday and happy boy addict blog day.  Last night I had a “friend date” that was so much fun.  Of course there is a story.  While I was in my last relationship, I learned he liked music.  I did my homework and discovered that Daryl Hall, the famous musician from the band Hall and Oats, has a “cool” venue in Pawling, NY.  Upon reading about Daryl’s House, I learned you can go and have dinner and listen to acoustic music performed by well known artists.    For Christmas, I purchased the boy I was in a relationship with two tickets for a show in February.  He seemed excited to do this.  But then he dumped me.  And when he did,  I had the nerve to ask him “are you going to use those Daryl Hall tickets I bought you”?  His response was interesting:  “No, it would be too sad to go without you.  Would you like them back?”  My response was “and it would be too sad to go with me, so yes I would like them back”.   He got the tickets back to me!

So my dear friend who is married with children and dying to have a night out on the town was more than excited to go with me.  We went last night and had an amazing time.  The lead musician was so entertaining and talented.  We laughed a lot and reminisced about all the fun times we have had out on the town when we were in our twenties.  I think the highlight of our friend date (and she would agree) was our decision to belt out a Whitney Houston song in my car on the way home.  We were laughing so hard, we were crying.

After I dropped her back at her home, I thought to myself “that was so much more fun than it would have been with the boy who dumped me”.  On my journey to stay single for 6 months, I know its critical for me to make “friend dates”.  I think most can agree that friend dates are the most fun.

Thank you friends for being around and available to “date me”.  And thank you for reading.

 

 

Leave a Reply

