Single Pain…

Standard

tooth

 

Happy Sunday and happy boy addict blog day.  This past week was a hard one for me.  I had my very first cavity about 2 years ago and it turned into what I refer to as “the root canal from hell”.  For a few days my pain was excruciating.  The night time was the hardest.  I had to call my dentist on her emergency call line and wake her a few times.  Anyway, today’s blog is not about my tooth disaster.  It is about being in pain and being single.

Now I’m not referring to the pain of being single.  That comes with its own issues, which is why I blog.  I’m referring to being in excruciating pain and being alone.  I have had this happen a few times and fortunately not long lasting.  But it is hard.  I find when I am home alone at night and in pain, this is when I want a partner the most.  My dentist told me the next day (after I woke her up at 2 a.m.) that she didn’t send me to the 24 hour pharmacy that night because she was concerned about me driving in that state.  I agreed, but I was willing to do it.

It would have been nice to have a partner who could have driven me to get some good meds to get me out of pain.  This is the nice part in having a good man.  I do often think, what if I end up in the hospital?  Who will come?   Will I be left alone in pain with no one to care for me?   Now, this one is silly because I know I’m blessed with a boatload of folks who wouldn’t leave me alone in the hospital.  I also am blessed with terrific parents who were on the phone with me non-stop during my tooth crisis.  Not to mention my beloved cat Missy who was right by my side the entire tooth ordeal.  I also realized there are many people alone in the world, in chronic pain, and have no one to help them.  I truly do not know how these folks live life and I pray for them.  I am blessed.

Truth be told, more often than not, being in the wrong relationship with the wrong boy is much more painful than one annoying infected tooth.  Ya’ll know it, as do I.  I’m writing this as I contemplate my man.  So many of you are my man.  This I am forever grateful.

Thank you for reading.

 

Leave a Reply

