Not talking about boys…

Standard

shhhhhhh

Once again, it’s Sunday and it’s boy addict blog day.  I was thinking that since I’m dating myself for 6 months and not dating boys, what the heck can I talk about?  Will I become boring in my blog?  What is the point of doing this?  It is amazing that restricting myself from thinking about boys gives me a lot of free time to focus on other things.  And when I focus on other things, I realize I have a lot of things to focus on.

I have a new job that is very intense.  In fact, it’s the most intense job I’ve ever had.  I actually joked with my father awhile ago saying “I really thought when a person gets into their mid-forties, life becomes much more stable and calm”.  He laughed out loud when I said this as we both know today how wrong my naive “20 something” thinking was.  My new job is much more than I ever bargained for.  I am learning to appreciate the challenge and to appreciate my amazing team and elderly residents.  They are quickly becoming my new family and I know that professionally this role will lead to new exciting ventures in my life.  So instead of focusing on a boy, I’m happy to focus on my new job.  I really have no choice.

I am trying very hard to keep up my running.  I have a goal of 2 marathons this fall.  In order to reach my goal, I need to focus on better eating, consistent running and overall good health.  I have been so blessed to be able to run.  In addition, I am so blessed with my running friends who sustain me.  I feel slightly sad for them that I don’t have any current “crazy dating stories”.   I know my stories seem to entertain both them and myself during our long runs together.  I also know they are big fans of me dating myself.  Thank you power chicks!

I have become a “binge watcher” of a variety of cable television series.  I’ve discovered there are some really great series on cable television that I really like watching and talking about with my non-running friends.  There is nothing better than sitting on my heating pad after my long run and watching weekly exciting cable series with one cliff hanger after the other.  Really good stuff.  Boys?  What boys?

I’m planning some great vacations.  And I was able to get all my days off approved!  What is better than this?  A true blessing and something to really looks forward too.  I’m going to spend time in London this spring with my best friend and Alaska this summer with my family including my super cool nephews who cannot wait to travel with Aunt Les.  I’ve realized that boys or no boys, I’m a pretty “neat package” for others to spend time with.

In fact, many of my friends and family are happier when I don’t have a boy with me.  I always joke that when I tell the people in my life I met someone, they make the “oh no, not again” faces.  Maybe I’ll start telling them, “I’m meeting myself”.   I really do want them to smile for me.  6 months of dating myself is making me smile myself.

Thank you for reading.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Not talking about boys…

Leave a Reply

