Listening to the Soul

Standard

image

Happy Sunday from the NJ shore.  I am blessed to have family who live on the beach and welcome me with open arms any time I invite myself.   As I look out over the vast ocean I contemplate my life.   I’m currently faced with an injury prohibiting me from engaging in my passion – running.  I have ALWAYS advised myself and my running friends to “listen to your body”.  Well, as I rest my body, my pain is gone.  But where is my passion?   As I listen to my body and rest, I turn to my soul.

Just like listening to your physical self, it is so important to listen to your spiritual self.  What do I mean by this?  It is deep for sure.  For me, the soul is the essence of emotions including my most personal relationship with God.  It is where I seek divine guidance through prayer.  It is where I receive strength to trust myself enough to make decisions in my life that are healthier for me.  It is where I have learned to listen and accept those into my life who reinforce and help to grow my soul.   As Billy Joel sang “It’s All About Soul”.

Sometimes in life, especially for active me, it is hard to slow down.   With physical rest I am seeing parts of my life that I may have been missing.  Just going walking instead of running on the track I have been running on for years helps me to see some beautiful parts of my town I never noticed before.  The track sits high on a hill and with walking I had time to take in scenes I have been missing. This included some new buildings making for a lovely skyline I could truly appreciate.  While track walking noticed two squirrels appearing to be dancing with each other.  Another scene I would have missed if I had been running.  Slowing down helped me to appreciate nature’s true beauty.

In terms of my journey to recover from boy addiction, what I see now is that by slowing down I can not only listen and honor my body healing my physical pain, but I can listen and honor my soul and perhaps heal my spiritual pain.    I realize that only when I release my will, does the will of my body and my soul allow me to more fully appreciate all the goodness and beauty in my life.  And there is tons of this.  If not in the form of one man, certainly in the form of many great people, places, and things.

Today I thank God for giving me the gift of health to allow me to fully listen to my soul.   Nothing but great things in life will come from this blessing.  Thank you for reading.  Please listen to body and soul.   When you slow down, much comes to you.  Such a gift.    Thank you for reading.

 

Leave a Reply

