Long term relationships…

Standard

birthday-fruit

Happy Sunday.  Today I’m thinking about how I’ve changed my mind over these past few years.  I no longer feel I’m missing out on something because I’m not married and I do not have children.  I’m much more comfortable in my own body and in my own life.  As part of being a “boy addict”, I have always joked with others that I am not capable of being in a long-term relationship.  Most recently, I realized this is VERY far from the truth.  With my very dear friend of 23 years in town this weekend from London, I am reminded that I am really good at long term relationships.  Just don’t have the “husband” but I do have the ability to maintain long term relationships that are healthy and gratifying.  She and I have been having such a great time together during her brief visit.  Along with she and other great long term friends, all we do is laugh and “fall back in” to our great relationship as if we had seen each other yesterday.  It is awesome.

My father always tells me I am blessed with great friends.  He is correct.  I have had the HUGE good fortune of maintaining great friends over many years.  This past year, my longest and dearest friend from high school (and my very first running partner) surprised me on my birthday at my job with a gorgeous fruit basket!  It brought tears to my eyes the gift was ENTIRELY unexpected and so incredibly thoughtful.  I was having a tough time at my job at that time and that fruit gift made my birthday so wonderful.  I didn’t need a husband to make my birthday.  I had my friend remember me and surprise me after meeting her on my high school track 30 years ago!

Then there is my family.  I am so blessed to have had them in my life for my entire 45 years.  They are so very important to me as I age.  My nephews are my “long distance” children.  It is so wonderful to spend time with them as they love me unconditionally and I them.  It is pure joy.

Now, to “toot” my own horn, I must say to have a good friend one must be a good friend.  I invest a lot into my friendships and my family.  Why?  Because you are all my “long-term relationship”.  And I am great at this.  Friends and family – we do not need any “couples counseling” and I am not afraid that we will ever separate.  Thank you for giving me the blessing of being successful at my long term relationships.  I got this!

Much love and thank you for reading.

Leave a Reply

