Mothering

Standard

IMG_8741

Happy Sunday and Happy Mother’s Day. When I wanted my own child so badly in my past, Mother’s Day was a sad day for me.   I was once was given a potted plant at a restaurant during my most fertile child bearing years and I quickly returned it to the waiter declaring I am NOT a mother!  Well, those days have long since passed and today when a parking garage attendant handed me a rose wishing me a Happy Mother’s Day I gladly took it and was all smiles. I even threw an extra buck into his tip. What I know today is that as women, whether we biologically reproduce or not, we typically have mothering traits we should be proud of.

Now I realize some of us our more mothering than others. As for myself I’m the queen of “Mom like” behaviors. Heck, I used Ms. Breck hairspray in college and dubbed the title S.I.A.G. (which meant that when my female college dorm mates went out for a wreckless night of drinking I begged them to STAY IN A GROUP).  Hence they began saying “yes Mom” in response to my safety lectures.  I am a natural born nurturer. I chose my profession in order to nurture my seniors. My friends’ children love me and I them. As a result of “boy addiction” I mothered 2 young ladies for 4 years and that was THE BEST part of that relationship. I do not regret one second I spent with them as they taught me so much about life and unconditional love!

So today I’m here to say whether you have children or not, as a woman honor your ability to nurture.  I think it’s fair to say that while some men try very hard (these are real men, not boys) they too will admit sometimes there is nothing like a motherly touch. And to my mother who I am SO BLESSED to have in my life, thank you for teaching me the art of nurture.

And to my dear friend out there who never misses an opportunity to wish me a Happy Mother’s Day since I met him 17 years ago, today I really do feel the love, appreciation and gratitude. Thank you friend.

Please forget ALL BOYS on this day and honor the mother in you.

Thank you for reading.

One thought on “Mothering

  1. Rose

    Beautiful written Leslie.! As someone over twenty years older than you I treasure your friendship and great advise always. You are a very special person!

Leave a Reply

